SSC CHSL Syllabus 2024, Check CBT Pattern and Exam Scheme

The Staff Selection Commission (SSC) Combined Higher Secondary Level (CHSL) Examination is a pivotal assessment for recruiting candidates to various clerical and data entry positions in the Government of India. This examination is structured in multiple tiers to assess a wide range of skills, ensuring the selection of competent candidates for various posts such as Lower Division Clerk (LDC), Junior Secretariat Assistant (JSA), and Data Entry Operators (DEO).

The candidates for the SSC CHSL Examination are selected based on their performance in various phases. Here, we provide an in-depth look at the examination scheme and paper pattern, particularly focusing on the differences across these posts.

SSC CHSL Syllabus and Examination Structure

SSC CHSL Syllabus

Exam Name Combined Higher Secondary Level Exam
Exam Organizer Staff Selection Commission
  • Data Entry Operator
  • Lower Division Clerk
  • Junior Secretarial Assistant
Category Syllabus and Exam Structure

SSC CHSLE Selection Process

The SSC CHSL exam is conducted in two main tiers: Tier-I and Tier-II, both computer-based tests. The Tier-I exam is uniform for all candidates, comprising sections on the English Language, General Intelligence, Quantitative Aptitude, and General Awareness. Each section contains 25 questions, making a total of 100 questions worth 50 marks each, summing up to a total of 200 marks. This tier tests candidates’ basic knowledge and comprehension skills across the board.

Tier-I Examination Pattern:

  • English Language (Basic Knowledge): 25 questions, 50 marks
  • General Intelligence: 25 questions, 50 marks
  • Quantitative Aptitude (Basic Arithmetic Skill): 25 questions, 50 marks
  • General Awareness: 25 questions, 50 marks

The Tier-II exam, however, is differentiated based on the posts candidates are applying for. It involves more in-depth testing with sections on Mathematical Abilities, Reasoning and General Intelligence, English Language and Comprehension, and General Awareness. Additionally, it includes a Computer Knowledge Module and varying practical skill tests specific to the post.

Specifics for Different Posts

Data Entry Operator (DEO)

For DEOs, the Tier-II examination includes:

  • Mathematical Abilities and Reasoning and General Intelligence: 60 questions, 180 marks
  • English Language and Comprehension and General Awareness: 60 questions, 180 marks
  • Computer Knowledge Module: 15 questions, 45 marks (qualifying nature)
  • Skill Test: The DEOs undergo a skill test, a speed test for data entry on the computer. The required speed for DEO in the CAG office is 8,000 Key Depressions per hour, and for other departments, it is 15,000 Key Depressions per hour.

Lower Division Clerk (LDC)/Junior Secretariat Assistant (JSA)

For LDC/JSA, the Tier-II exam pattern is identical regarding the objective components as DEOs. However, instead of the skill test, LDCs and JSAs have to take a Typing Test:

  • Typing Test: Candidates opting for English medium should have a typing speed of 35 words per minute, and those opting for Hindi should have a speed of 30 words per minute. The test duration is 10 minutes (15 minutes for candidates eligible for a scribe).

Key Points to Note

  • Negative Marking: Both tiers have a negative marking; 0.50 marks are deducted for each wrong answer in Tier-I and 1 mark in Tier-II.
  • Computer Proficiency: Tier-II’s Computer Knowledge Module is crucial for DEOs and acts as a qualifying section.
  • Language of Examination: Questions are in English and Hindi, except for the English Language and Comprehension section.

The SSC CHSL examination’s structured approach through its tiered system ensures a comprehensive assessment of candidates suitable for government departments’ clerical and data entry roles.

SSC CHSL Detailed Syllabus

Computer Based Examination (Tier-I) Syllabus

  • General Intelligence: This section includes both verbal and non-verbal types of questions. Topics covered are Semantic Analogy, Symbolic operations, Symbolic/Number Analogy, Trends, Figural Analogy, Space Orientation, Semantic Classification, Venn Diagrams, Symbolic/Number Classification, Drawing inferences, Figural Classification, Punched hole/pattern-folding & unfolding, Semantic Series, Figural Pattern-folding and completion, Number Series, Embedded figures, Figural Series, Critical Thinking, Problem Solving, Emotional Intelligence, Word Building, Social Intelligence, Coding and de-coding, and Numerical operations.
  • English Language: The focus here is on understanding and usage of language through questions on Spot the Error, Filling in the Blanks, Synonyms/Homonyms, Antonyms, Spellings/Detecting misspelt words, Idioms & Phrases, One word substitution, Improvement of Sentences, Active/Passive Voice of Verbs, Conversion into Direct/Indirect narration, Shuffling of Sentence parts, Shuffling of Sentences in a passage, Cloze Passage, and Comprehension Passage.
  • Quantitative Aptitude: Includes Number Systems, Fundamental Arithmetical Operations, Algebra, Geometry, Mensuration, Trigonometry, and Statistical Charts, focusing on basic arithmetic skills essential for the examination.
  • General Awareness: Tests the candidate’s awareness of the surrounding world and applicability to society. This includes current events, everyday observation, and experience in their scientific aspects, focusing on India and its neighboring countries related to History, Culture, Geography, Economic Scene, General policy, and scientific research.

Computer Based Examination (Tier-II) Syllabus

  • Mathematical Abilities: Covers Number Systems, Fundamental arithmetical operations, Algebra, Geometry, Mensuration, Trigonometry, and Statistics and probability.
  • Reasoning and General Intelligence: This module tests a wide range of cognitive abilities through questions similar to those in Tier-I.
  • English Language And Comprehension: This tests vocabulary, grammar, sentence structure, synonyms, antonyms, and other aspects of English comprehension and usage.
  • General Awareness: Similar to Tier-I, this tests deeper knowledge of general awareness that impacts society.
  • Computer Proficiency: Includes basic computer knowledge, software usage, internet and email, networking, and cybersecurity basics.

Special Provisions for Visually Handicapped (VH) Candidates: For VH candidates with a 40% and above visual disability, there will be no component of Maps/Graphs/Diagrams/Statistical Data in the Mathematical Abilities and Reasoning and General Intelligence modules.

Practical Skill Tests

  • For DEO: Skill tests evaluate the speed and accuracy of data entry. Part A is for DEO/DEO Grade ‘A’ in specific departments requiring 15,000 key depressions per hour, and Part B is for other DEOs requiring 8,000 key depressions per hour.
  • For LDC/JSA: The typing test evaluates typing speed where English medium candidates must achieve 35 words per minute and Hindi medium candidates 30 words per minute.

Source link

Leave a Comment